Tags

, , , , , , ,

What’s that? Huh? There’s no October 16 Arthurian fact of the Day? You feel cheated? OK, OK, I missed a day. Come ON, I’m a busy person, folks! Sheesh. Everyone’s a critic. I tell you what, I’ll make up for it by posting TWO Arthurian facts this morning, how’s that?

(I’m actually not exaggerating(much), here, I had two emails about yesterday’s missing Arthurian fact. But you know what? I have to be honest – I’m kind of thrilled that anyone cares enough to point it out when s/he misses the daily dose of All Things Arthur – it makes me feel like this blog means something to someone. Thank you, critics! :o)

OK, without further ado, let’s get to those facts:

1. (Which would have been yesterday’s if I had posted yesterday) is on jousting. I wanted to continue with our sporty vein, since yesterday was all about King Arthur and running. So I “Googled” jousting and King Arthur… and just look at the goodies I found!  -

a. Now you can get your Arthur jousting on any time of the day or night: a King Arthur jousting game to upload to your mobile phone:

http://www.gamespot.com/mobile/action/kingarthursmedievaljoust/index.html

b. Just in time for Christmas shopping – in case your house is already full of Arthurian paraphernelia and you didn’t think there was ANYTHING you didn’t own, or for the Arthur aficionado who seems impossible to buy for:King Arthur’s joust decorative high-gloss ceramic door knobs. No, I’m not making this up. Do I LOOK like I’m kidding? Actually, I think I’ll put this on my list…

And, 2. For today’s Arthurian fact of the day, let’s get back on a more serious, actual-factual Arthurian tidbit (which I just found out yesterday while reading a biography of Joseph Campbell called A Mind On Fire: Roger Sherman Loomis, the eminent mid-twentieth century Arthurian scholar, oversaw Joseph Campbell’s Master’s thesis on the Dolorous Stroke. Interestingly, the author of the biography makes the claim that Loomis’s “traditional” approach to  the study of the Grail materials contributed to putting Campbell off of going for his PhD. But modern Arthurian scholars tend to fall into one of two camps – either they appreciate Loomis’s off-the-beaten track scholarship focusing on Celtic materials as the sources for the Arthurian legend, or they disdain him for it. So, Loomis’s innovation as a scholar is his standing legacy, yet Campbell found him too staid and traditional to work with. Interesting, no?