Welcome to the Cauldron, @TriadStartup and @robolollycop!

In My Head: I don’t care how sick and tired I feel, today I am getting things done. So brain, just get concentrating!

In the Cup: Seattle’s Best Coffee, level 4

Currently Playing: Fleetwood Mac, Rumours. Because sometimes, y’all, you have to just go back and dance with the one that brought you, and no matter how many awesome bands and sounds there are — this is really one of the very, very best.

Daily Run: 2 miles, probably on the treadmill to try to avoid making this cough worse.

On the Desk: revisions to article on Arthurian Tarot; 1 page rhetorical analysis of the Franklin Hall speech of Maria Stewart; close reading of Spenser’s Faerie Queene, Book Two; drafting for Merrin Born (busy, busy Sunday!)

On the DVR: Downton Abbey, Season 2, Episode 6

On the Nightstand: Esther Cohen, The Modulated Scream.

BPAL of the Day: Dragon Moon 2012

I have been busily scribbling away, my dears, and the story is finally starting to “gel” in ways even I couldn’t have imagined when I first set out with a general plot and series summary. In fact, I’ve already begun written sections of the next two books in addition to this one, because the threads that will ultimately link them all together have begun to show themselves so clearly. It’s been so much fun drafting this week, in between the graduate school reading and writing assignments, the article revisions, and making sure not to neglect my role as wife and mommy! I hope you enjoy reading this week’s six sentences as much as I enjoyed writing them!

As always, I have to insert the caveat that anything you read here will ultimately be subjected to an editor’s critical eye, and may or may not make it into the final version. And as always, I’m eager to hear what you think! Love it? Hate it? Think it could be better? Let me know!

In this scene, Merrin and Hardyng have just discovered that they are in the ancient stronghold of the Norse gods, and Hardyng is having a little trouble adjusting to the idea.

He doesn’t answer me. Instead, he suddenly and unexpectedly grips the sword hilt in both hands and swings the weapon at the closest stalagmite. Again and again, he strikes at the giant rock formation, yelling out wordless frustrations as sparks rain around him with each clanging blow. I’ve never seen him lose his temper so completely. I don’t know what else to do, so I just watch. When at last a final, mighty blow sends chunks of stone flying across the cavern, he stops and looks at me, breathing heavily, his face flushed from the exertion: “Which is the way back?”

Well, Reader, what about you? Have you ever been so frustrated with a person, a situation, or both, that you totally lost your temper? How did you handle it?

